Combating Global Corruption and Human Rights Abuses – United … – Department of State

Official websites use .gov
Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
Policy Issues
Countries & Areas
Bureaus & Offices
Fact Sheet
Office of the Spokesperson
December 9, 2022
On the occasion of International Anti-Corruption Day and on the eve of International Human Rights Day, the United States is taking the following actions to promote accountability for corruption and human rights abuse around the world.  These actions include financial sanctions, using Executive Order (E.O.) 13818, which builds upon and implements the Global Magnitsky Act, and four additional country-focused Executive Orders.  The actions also include visa restrictions pursuant to Section 7031(c) of the Department of State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs Appropriations Act, 2022 (Div. K, P.L. 117-103), as carried forward by the Continuing Appropriations Act, 2023 (Div. A, P.L. 117-180) and pursuant to Section 212(a)(3)(C) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).
All property and interests in property of individuals or entities designated under E.O.s 14024, 13818, 13722, 13687, or 13553 that are in the United States or in the possession or control of U.S. persons are blocked and must be reported to the Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC).  In addition, any entities that are owned, directly or indirectly, 50 percent or more by one or more blocked persons are also blocked.  Unless authorized by a general or specific license issued by OFAC, or otherwise exempt, all transactions by U.S. persons or within (or transiting) the United States that involve any property or interests in property of designated or otherwise blocked persons are prohibited.  The prohibitions include the making of any contribution or provision of funds, goods, or services by, to, or for the benefit of any blocked person or the receipt of any contribution or provision of funds, goods, or services from any such person.
Section 7031(c) provides that in cases where there is credible information that officials of foreign governments have been involved in significant corruption or a gross violation of human rights, those individuals and their immediate family members are generally ineligible for entry into the United States and must be either publicly or privately designated.  INA Section 212(a)(3)(C) provides grounds for the Secretary of State to exclude any alien whose entry he determines would have potentially serious adverse foreign policy consequences for the United States.
Conan Tonathiu Castro Ramirez (Castro Ramirez), Presidential Legal Secretary
Oscar Rolando Castro (Castro), Minister of Labor
Allan Estuardo Rodriguez Reyes (Rodriguez), Former President of Congress
Jorge Estuardo Vargas Morales (Vargas), Congressman
Luis Alfonso Chang Navarro (Chang), Former Minister of Energy and Mines
Romel Bell, Former Director General of the General Administration of Customs
Rony Celestin, Senator
Karim Keita (Keita), Former President of the National Assembly’s Defense Committee
Pavlo Vovk (Vovk), Chairman of the Kyiv District Administrative Court
Kerim Heydar Alimardanov (Alimardanov), an official in the Main Department for Combating Organized Crime within the Azerbaijani Ministry of Internal Affairs, known as the “Bandotdel”
Alain Guillaume Bunyoni (Bunyoni), a former Burundian official
Border Guard General Bureau (BGGB)
Two DPRK-related individuals and Seven Entities
Alpha Conde (Conde), former president of Guinea
Godlief Mangkak Timbul Silaen (Silaen), former police chief of the then-East Timor region and commander of Indonesia’s Security Control Command
Ali Akbar Javidian (Javidian), Kermanshah Province Commander of the Law Enforcement Forces of the Islamic Republic of Iran (LEF)
Allah Karim Azizi (Azizi), warden of Rezaee Shah Prison
Ebrahim Kouchakzaei (Kouchakzaei), LEF commander in Chabahar, in Iran’s Sistan and Baluchistan Province
Mohammed Reza Ostad (Ostad), warden of Bushehr Prison
13 Iranian government officials
Wu Yingjie (Wu), Party Secretary of Tibetan Autonomous Region (TAR)
Zhang Hongbo (Zhang), director of the Tibetan Public Security Bureau (TPSB)
Tang Yong (Tang), former deputy director of the Chongqing Area Prisons in the PRC
Li Zhenyu (Li)
Zhuo Xinrong (Zhuo)
José Carlos Bertarelli Rodríguez (Rodríguez), a former commander of the Ayacucho Intelligence Detachment in Peru
Apollo Quiboloy (Quiboloy)
Central Election Commission of the Russian Federation (Russia’s CEC)
Lyudmila Nikolaevna Zaitseva (Zaitseva)
Ochur-Suge Terimovich Mongush (Mongush)
Oleg Yuryevich Nesterov (Nesterov), Russian Federation Presidential Administration official
Yevgeniy Radionovich Kim (Kim), Russian Federation Presidential Administration official
Marina Konstantinovna Sereda (Sereda)
Aleksey Valentinovich Muratov (Muratov), Official of the so-called DNR
Prabath Bulathwatte (Bulathwatte), former head of a clandestine Sri Lankan Army platoon, known as the “Tripoli Platoon,”
For more information about these designations, please see the following statements:

Read more
Read more
Read more


What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

More in:Diaspora

Comments are closed.